The page you are looking for is temporarily unavailable.
Please try again later

Sport WATCH: Rahm's bunker flop!

23:42  17 july  2017
23:42  17 july  2017 Source:

Rahm joins Im in Irish Open lead

  Rahm joins Im in Irish Open lead Rising star Jon Rahm has already won on the PGA Tour in 2017 and is well placed to claim another victory at the European Tour's Irish Open.Jon Rahm moved into a share of the lead in only his second regular European Tour event as birdies continued to flow at the Irish Open on Saturday.

Phil Mickelson pulled off an incredible flop shot from a greenside bunker on Sunday. We chatted with PGA Professional Jeff Martin about when -- and if -- you should attempt such a shot. WATCH : Rahm ' s eagle hole out at Irish Open.

* Negative margins prompt 'desperation' in Gulf Coast bunker market * Industry hoping for more clarity on roadmap to 2020 IMO sulfur cap. FACTBOX: Asia Q3 oil products outlook and factors to watch .

Getty © Provided by BSkyB Getty Morpheus Bulletin © Provided by BSkyB Morpheus Bulletin

Most players would elect to use a sand wedge or lob wedge when stuck in a bunker, but Jon Rahm had other ideas during his visit to the Open Zone at Royal Birkdale.

The big-hitting Spaniard has built up a reputation as one of the world's top players after an astounding first year as a professional, with the Irish Open champion showcasing some of his talents ahead of The Open.

Rahm joined Andrew Coltart at the Open Zone's bunker, a new installation this week, to demonstrate some of the best ways to get out of the sand and how to tackle certain shots.

The 22-year-old then wowed the crowds by pulling out a skill he learnt from the late Seve Ballesteros, crouching down and hitting a magical shot with a 4-iron over a five-foot bunker lip.

Click on the video above to see Rahm's special shot!

Watch The 146th Open throughout the week live on Sky Sports - your home of The Open

Rahm in new rules controversy .
Jon Rahm was at the centre of a rules controversy on the first day of The Open at Royal Birkdale. The Spaniard was penalised two shots on the 17th for moving a plant close to his ball but later had the strokes restored after rules officials accepted his explanation that his lie was not improved.It meant the 22-year-old was able to sign for the one-under-par 69 that he shot rather than the one-over score that was initially indicated when he completed his round.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!