Sport WNBA Finals: MVP Sylvia Fowles leads Lynx to fourth championship

06:05  05 october  2017
06:05  05 october  2017 Source:   Sporting News

Five reasons why the 2017 WNBA Finals are not just another rematch

  Five reasons why the 2017 WNBA Finals are not just another rematch On Wednesday evening, the Minnesota Lynx and Los Angeles Sparks will meet in Game 5 of the WNBA Finals for a second straight year, in a winner-takes-all game that will decide whether one of the most impressive sports dynasties in recent sports history will live on, or if a new one will take the throne. The Sparks will try and do what they did last year, and take the title from the Lynx in front of a rowdy Minnesota crowd, effectively usurping the Lynx as the most dominant and formidable team in the WNBA. The Lynx, meanwhile, will be looking for revenge from last year, and for a fourth WNBA championship in the last six years.

Maya Moore scored 21 points, Sylvia Fowles added 17 points and 14 rebounds, and the Lynx sealed their place in a third straight finals after pulling away to an 81-70 win in Game 3. Seimone Augustus added 18 points to help make sure Minnesota will have the chance to win a fourth WNBA title in

LOS ANGELES — Sylvia Fowles and the Minnesota Lynx weren't about to let their season end in Los Angeles. The WNBA MVP helped the Lynx force a decisive fifth game in the WNBA Finals by scoring 22 points and grabbing 14 rebounds as Minnesota beat Los Angeles 80-69 on Sunday night.

Candace Parker led the Los Angeles Sparks past the Minnesota Lynx to win last year's WNBA championship.

Sylvia Fowles, left © (Getty Images) Sylvia Fowles, left

The Lynx turned the tables this year with an 85-76 victory Wednesday as the WNBA Finals best-of-five series went the distance for the third straight year.

The Lynx and Sparks had split their previous 12 games, but every Minnesota starter scored in double digits on Wednesday as Maya Moore led the way with 18 points.

It's the fourth WNBA title over last seven years for the Lynx, who also won championships in 2011, 2013 and 2015.

Sylvia Fowles, who was the WNBA Finals MVP in 2015, was named the 2017 Finals MVP after scoring 17 points with 20 rebounds, four assists, three blocks and two steals in Wednesday's win. Parker led the Sparks with a game-high 19 points and 15 rebounds.

Cilic makes progress in Japan

  Cilic makes progress in Japan Marin Cilic booked his place in the quarter-finals of the Japan Open with a 6-3 6-4 victory over wildcard Yasutaka Uchiyama.Top seed Marin Cilic booked his place in the quarter-finals of the Japan Open on Wednesday with a 6-3 6-4 victory over home wild card Yasutaka Uchiyama.

Sylvia Fowles . Last Updated: September 18, 2017. Was invited to participate in the 2014 USA World Championship Team training camp, but was unable to attend after helping lead the Sky to the WNBA Finals . Over the past two seasons (2015-17), the Lynx have advanced to two WNBA Finals

Lynx win 2015 WNBA championship . With a sweltering defense and a yearning to celebrate in front of their loyal fans, the Minnesota Lynx turned a tense WNBA Finals into a runaway. Sylvia Fowles had 20 points and 11 rebounds

The Lynx jumped out to a 19-8 lead before L.A. went on an 11-2 run to end the first quarter. The Lynx, who scored the game's first seven points, never trailed and held a 41-35 halftime lead. Minnesota then scored the first six points of the second half to pull away at Minnesota's Williams Arena.

The Sparks went on a 9-0 run in the final minute to cut the lead to 79-76 with 34 seconds remaining before a running jumper by Moore eight seconds later sealed the win.

"I wasn't nervous at all at the end," Lynx coach Cheryl Reeve sarcastically told ESPN through a laugh. "We just wanted to bait them in to make them think they had a chance and then rip it away from them."

Ilott leads Prema 1-2-3 in second race at Hockenheim .
Callum Ilott earned his sixth win of the 2017 European Formula 3 season with a dominant drive in the second of three races at Hockenheim. Poleman Ilott made the perfect start, fending off an early challenge from team-mate Maximilian Gunther. Ilott set a blistering pace all race and won the race by over 11 seconds. Gunther was forced to settle for second with Guanyu Zhou in third making it a Prema Powerteam 1-2-3. Race one winner Joel Eriksson finished in fourth, just 0.533 seconds off the podium. Jake Hughes put off up a stern defence of his fourth position but eventually conceded to the Swede. He was fifth ahead of team-mate Nikita Mazepin. Pedro Piquet finished in seventh with Jehan Daruvala rounding out the top eight. Tadasuke Makino was ninth for the second race running. Ralf Aron picked up the final point. Newly crowned champion Lando Norris was only 11th after an incident at the hairpin lost him a handful of positions. The British driver was forced to take avoiding action, locking his brakes and scooting off the road before rejoining. David Beckmann put in a stellar defence drive against Norris for most of the race but received a five-second penalty for track limits, demoting him to 13th. Debutant Juri Vips was an impressive 12th with fellow first timer Felipe Drugovich 16th again.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!